Seven Songs: Papercuts

Monday, 23 March 2009, 23:49 | Category : Seven Songs
Tags : ,

I have a large pile of albums waiting to be reviewed, but I keep putting it off. All of them are good though, so I will bring them to you sometime in the not-too-distant future. One of these albums is You Can Have What You Want, the fourth long-player from San Franciscan Jason Quever, aka [...]

Seven Songs: Wildbirds & Peacedrums

Tuesday, 17 March 2009, 22:40 | Category : Seven Songs, Video
Tags : ,

Last year Wildbirds & Peacedrums released the awesome Heartcore. Less than a year later, the good folks at Leaf Records will be presenting us with The Snake, another impressive piece of primal percussion-and-voice goodness from the Swedish couple. It’s an excellent record and I’ll be reviewing it nearer the release date. So this is a [...]

Seven Songs: Dan Michaelson

Thursday, 5 March 2009, 13:45 | Category : Seven Songs
Tags : ,

Next week sees the release of Saltwater, the debut solo album from Absentee frontman Dan Michaelson, aided and abetted by his friends and collaborators The Coastguards. As I’ve said before, it’s a good album, a little mellower that his other band’s output and a perfect home for Dan’s unique vocals. The other things that I’ve [...]